Chit Chat: My Birthday!

Hi, guys! Some of you may know, March 1st was my birthday. I had a great day and I thought you guys might enjoy a blog post about it! I don’t do a ton of chit chats but they are some of my favorite to write. So, grab a cup of tea, coffee, whatever suits you, cause this is a bit of a long one!

I would like to give a disclaimer – I am by no means bragging. I am a VERY blessed person and I am so thankful. I am not bragging, showing off, anything like that. I had an incredible day and I want to share it with you guys. If you dislike posts like this, I would encourage you to stop reading. But if you love makeup or birthdays half as much as I do, you will probably enjoy this post. 🙂

I seriously had the best day ever. I couldn’t ask for a better day. I am just so overwhelmed by it being such a good day! It started out with sleeping in, coffee, followed by presents. To name a few my parents bought me cosmetic glitter, John Green’s latest book, an amazing collared shirt and the best pair of slippers that have ever existed. Yes, they are that good. My parents also bought me some beautiful daffodils, which meant the world to me because no one has ever bought me flowers before.

IMG_4292

Around 11am or so my parents and I went to Hobby Lobby, my mom and I do a lot of crafting and we wanted to pick up some new supplies. I bought some new props for the blog including this floral background paper, which I think looks pretty good.

IMG_4462

I also bought some boxes to decorate, acrylic paint, paint brushes, cardstock with poodles on it (I’m in love with them), and a beautiful hair comb. I forgot to take a picture of these but you get the idea. We spent an hour or so there and I could honestly spend a whole day there and still not be able to look at everything! After that it was around noon, we were all hungry so we got some pizza at Fazoli’s.

Then went to Ulta. I’ve been wanting to visit Ulta for a long time because I’ve never been in-store and this felt like a great time! I saved up a few gift cards, so I didn’t spend that much but I was able purchased a lot. Of course, I enjoyed shopping in-store, but I really prefer the in-store at my local Sephora so I’ll stick to online shopping with Ulta.

I purchased:

IMG_4480

Makeup Revolution – Reloaded palettes in Newtrals 2 and Division. I don’t have anything like Division and Newtrals 2 was just calling my name!

Makeup Revolution – Conceal + Define concealer in C5. MUR was on sale for buy two get one free, so of course, I had to try this!

Catrice – Liquid Camouflage Concealer in 005. So many people love this so I wanted to try it.

Essence – Eye Blender Brush x2. I took a chance on this because I’m always looking for good eye brushes.

Essence – My Must Haves Customizable Palette in 8 Shades. I bought this because I bought the singles.

Essence – My Must Haves Satin Blush Single in Coral Dream, Strawberry Smoothie, and Rosie Glow. I bought all three shades because I am a blush addict.

Essence – My Must Haves Highlighter Powder Single in 01. $1.99 ea, why not try it out?

Essence – My Must Haves Bronzing Powder Single in 01. Again, this looked nice and had me at the price.

Physicians Formula – The Healthy Foundation in LN3. I wanted to buy a foundation from Revlon but they were out of stock, so I purchased this guy! It’s a good color match and so far I really like it.

IMG_4481

Hask – Argan Oil Repairing Shine Oil. I received a sample of this a while ago and I wanted to get a full size.

Morphe – 35O2 Second Nature Eyeshadow Palette. I thought this as beautiful when it first came out but decided to pass on it. I recently saw swatches of it and completely changed my mind. I’ve been needing a good red eyeshadow, I definitely found it in this palette. Just look at that pigmentation!

Mario Badescu – Facial Spray With Aloe, Herb and Rosewater. I’ve heard so many good things about this spray, I had to try it!

Birthday gift – including a lip mask and ULTA Juice Infused Lip Oil in Cranberry + Pomegranate.

After Ulta, we went to Sephora because I had an appointment for a Custom Makeover! I received a few Sephora gift cards for Christmas and when you redeem a $50 gift card you get a custom makeover for free. I had a custom makeover around a year ago or so and I loved it so I knew I wanted to do it again for my birthday. I love chatting with anyone about makeup, especially makeup artists. I was extremely lucky because I was booked with a really talented makeup artist and we got along very well! The night before I picked out the makeup look I wanted to have done, I settled on this look Kristen Stewart wore for a Chanel campaign.

the-chanel-red-collection-archive
image source: https://www.violetgrey.com/violet-files/violet-looks/the-chanel-red-collection

We decided to go darker for the lip and a bit smokier on the eyes.

I really love the way it turned out! I was so lucky to be booked with the makeup artist I was booked with. He is so talented and such a special person! It was amazing because we got along great and got to talk a lot about makeup products and techniques. He showed me so many tips and great advice. He also trains Sephora makeup artist for that store which is so exciting because I plan to apply there asap. Without a doubt, I’ll book another makeover with him.

IMG_4345
some products used

IMG_4348

IMG_4423

IMG_4430

After the makeover I did some shopping and bought a few things I needed, then a few things I fell in love with during the makeover.

I purchased:

IMG_4485

Sephora Favorites – Perfume Travel Sampler. I’ve mentioned these in gift guides before and really wanted to get one! For this set, you get to try 7 sample scents and a certificate for a full-size rollerball. The value is awesome!

MAKE UP FOR EVER – Water Blend Face & Body Foundation in Y245 (Soft Sand). The makeup artist that did my makeover used this foundation as a primer. It’s the perfect shade for my skin and provided really light coverage but makes everything pretty even! It tones down my redness and but gives a good base. I’ve used this a few times and I am in love with it! I think I’ll be writing a review on it soon and sharing a new technique I’m using to apply foundation.

(Sample) MAKE UP FOR EVER – Ultra HD Invisible Cover Foundation in Y215 (Yellow Albaster) The makeup artist that did my makeover used this foundation. I tried it in the past and really didn’t like it but it looked so good! I had to get a sample.

SEPHORA COLLECTION – V for V.O.L.U.M.E. Mascara in Turquoise and Purple. I love this mascara in ‘Blue’ so I knew I wanted to get at least one more shade, I couldn’t decide between Turquoise and Purple. They actually went on sale, half price, on my birthday so I got both!

Bite Beauty – BIRTHDAY GIFT Bite Lip Set – Mini Amuse Bouche Lipstick in Chai, Mini Matte Crème Lip Crayon in Glacé, and Agave Lip Treatment Sample Duo.

After Sephora, we went out for dinner at the Cheesecake Factory. If you’ve never been, you should go as soon as you can. They have amazing food and their cheesecake is SO good! We ordered the avocado eggrolls, which were so good and easily one of the best foods I’ve eaten. They were simply delicious.

ccf_avocadoeggrolls
image source: https://www.thecheesecakefactory.com/menu/small-plates-snacks-appetizers/appetizers/avocado-eggrolls/

I ordered Thai Coconut-Lime Chicken, I normally don’t go for those types of dishes but it was amazing. I also ordered tiramisu to go, which is my favorite dessert and was just the cherry on the cake for my birthday.

I genuinely had the best birthday ever, I am beyond blessed. I bought so much makeup and I can’t wait to play with everything! I’m going to have a lot of tutorials using these products soon, if there is anything you’d like to see in a tutorial or review – please let me know.

Let’s get social!

Instagram: emilyburnsmua

Twitter: emilyburnsmua

Pinterest: emilyburnsmua

Bloglovin’: Here

Email: Contact

35 thoughts on “Chit Chat: My Birthday!

Leave a comment