Anti Haul and Wishlist #4 – Summer 2018

Hi, guys! Welcome back to today’s post. If it’s your first time visiting the blog, hi, welcome! For today’s post, we are talking about new makeup releases. Specifically, products that I really want and products I really want to avoid. There have been tons of new makeup releases lately, so I thought it was the perfect time to do this post. Without further ado…

ANTI HAUL

Beauty by POPSUGAR $10.00 USD – $42.00 USD

beauty-popsugar-eyeshadow-palette-dawn
image source: https://www.popsugar.com/beauty/photo-gallery/44631042/image/44631061/Beauty-POPSUGAR-Eyeshadow-Palette-Dawn

From Ulta.com:

“Choose your own eye adventure with these mix-and-match sunrise eyeshadow shades. Chosen by Lisa Sugar and the POPSUGAR Beauty Team for their versatility and chic factor, Beauty by POPSUGAR’s Dawn palette colors in a combination of matte, satin and shimmer shadows start the day the right way: with maximum levels of gorgeous.”

I think this whole collection is overpriced and lacks originality. The palette pictured above it the Dawn Eyeshadow Palette and I find it to be the worse release. The packaging is very bulky, it is so overpriced, it just looks like kids makeup. Out of the whole palette, there are only 2 matte shades.

Cover FX – Glitter Drops $44.00 USD

s2027555-main-zoom
image source: https://www.sephora.com/product/glitter-drops-P427436

Shade: Aurora – multi-tonal pink glitter

From Sephora.com

“What it is:
A multidimensional glitter highlighter that imparts a high impact, light-reflective finish.

What it does:
Ultra-concentrated and customizable, these liquid glitters can be used alone, under or over makeup, or mixed into your favorite beauty product for an incredibly luxe glitter effect on the cheeks, eyes, lips, and body.”

I’ve tried the original highlighting drops and I like them but I won’t be picking these up. I think they are overpriced and I can see glitter just getting everywhere, making a huge mess.

Colorpop – Fame Pressed Powder Shadow Palette, $22.00 USD

fame_c_fa345920-1aff-47ce-822d-0b653dafd31b_800x1200
image source: https://colourpop.com/products/fame

From colourpop.com:

“One of our most requested palettes of all time! You’ll be ‘Mrs. Lifestyles of the rich and famous’, in our first ever cool toned eyeshadow palette. We’re bringing you 16 all new cool-toned taupes, plums, and mauves in a range of metallic, satin, and matte finishes. This is the ultimate cool tone essentials palette that can create romantic daytime to smokey, sultry dramatic looks.”

I haven’t tried anything from Colourpop and this definitely won’t be the first thing I try. The packaging is very vibrant, and when you open it I find the tones to be a bit lackluster. I’ve seen swatches and it just looks very ‘blah’. I like both cool and warm tones, but formulating cool eyeshadows can be quite hard like I said the swatches just seem like they really missed the mark. Some of these shadows seem pretty but it seems like the darker they are the more patchy and ‘blah’ they are.

HUDA BEAUTY – Rose Gold REMASTERED Eyeshadow Palette, $65.00 USD

s2077881-main-zoom
image source: https://www.sephora.com/product/rose-gold-remastered-eyeshadow-palette-P432059?skuId=2077881&keyword=Huda%20Beauty%20rose%20Gold%20Remastered

From Sephora.com:

“What it is:
A revolutionary eyeshadow palette with 18 unique, buttery-smooth shadows to create the most amplified metallic finish.

What it does:
What you thought was love was barely even a crush. Introducing the Rose Gold REMASTERED Eyeshadow Palette—a transformed version of Huda’s groundbreaking first edition. This palette is inspired by Huda’s obsession with the absolute, most necessary colors you need on an everyday basis. Rose Gold REMASTERED has made a comeback with creamier, more intense pigments, and combines 18 luxurious, talc-free eyeshadows in four key textures. It includes eight buttery mattes, eight melted metal shadows, one black shadow that can be used wet or dry, and one Pressed Pearls shadow. The REMASTERED palette features redesigned shades with a softer color harmony, plus the most insane metal fondant for your lids. The outer packaging showcases Huda’s favorite look and includes a large mirror to let you perfect your makeup on-the-go.”

This is a ‘remastered’ version of the original palette. There were many complaints about the formula in the original palette so I understand why they are putting out a ‘remastered’ version but I really prefer the shades in the original palette.

beautyblender – beautyblender® sapphire $20.00 USD

 

s2074698-main-zoom
image source: https://www.sephora.com/product/beautyblender-sapphire-P431849?icid2=just%20arrived:p431849:product

 

“What it is:
An edgeless, reusable, high-definition cosmetic sponge, now in a dazzling, deep blue shade.”

My issue with this is I think it is very boring. It’s a beautyblender, dyed sapphire. Yay, how groundbreaking (can you sense my sarcasm?). It’s just very boring and seems like they needed to put out a new product but didn’t have a better idea than realizing a blue beautyblender.

tarte – Love, Trust & Fairy Dust Vault $110.00 USD

s2094902-main-zoom
image source: https://www.sephora.com/product/love-trust-fairy-dust-vault-P434212?icid2=just%20arrived:p434212:product

From Sephora.com:

“What it is:
An enormous, glittering vault of beauty essentials with fly-girl-squad flair to create #flowerpowered looks.

What it does:
This collection of products adds a little magic to your everyday makeup routine while giving your vanity a serious dose of glitter.”

I feel like in every anti haul there is at least one product that fits into the ‘unicorn/rainbow’ collection and this month, it’s this. tarte, please stop putting these out. We’ve seen these products before and I am so tired of seeing a repackaged mascara in every collection. I feel like these collections are really cheapening tarte’s brand.

 

WISHLIST

Urban Decay – Backtalk Eye & Face Palette $46.00 USD

s2047579-main-zoom
image source: https://www.sephora.com/product/backtalk-eye-face-palette-P429051?skuId=2047579&icid2=products%20grid:p429051

From Sephora.com:

“What it is:
A go-anywhere, do-anything eyeshadow and face palette inspired by Backtalk, Urban Decay’s bestselling, cult-favorite Vice Lipstick shade.

What it does:
Like two palettes in one, this travel-ready case holds eight nude-mauve, soft berry, and muted rose eyeshadow shades on one side and four coordinating shades of blush and highlighter on the other.”

I love these tones, I love the layout, I really want this palette. I think it would be great for travel. I’m a blush addict. I just really like everything about this palette.

stila – Shimmer & Glow Liquid Eye Shadow $24.00 USD

s2100816-main-zoom
image source: https://www.sephora.com/product/shimmer-glow-liquid-eye-shadow-P427385?icid2=similar%20products:p427385:product&skuId=2100816

Shade: Vivid Sapphire – vibrant dark blue

From Sephora.com:

“What it is:
A long-wearing, high-shimmer liquid eyeshadow.

What it does:
Glisten and gleam with stila’s new Shimmer & Glow Liquid Eye Shadow—rich, beautiful color with a high shimmer sheen, minus the glitter.

The pearl-packed translucent base offers versatile wear. Apply a sheer layer for daytime, or add layers for nighttime drama. This uniquely lightweight, water-infused texture gives a barely-there, refreshing feel and smooth color laydown. The non-tacky, non-transfer, adhesive base means minimal fallout—no primer needed.”

These shadows have been popular since they came out and I’ve never bought one but the new shades are calling my name, especially Vivid Sapphire. It just looks so pretty and sparkly.

SEPHORA COLLECTION – Volume ON Mascara $10.00 USD

s2012615-main-zoom
image source: https://www.sephora.com/product/volume-on-mascara-P432425?skuId=2012615&icid2=just%20arrived:p432425

Shade: 02 Navy Blue ON!

From Sephora.com:

“What it is:
A set of all-new SEPHORA COLLECTION mascaras, available in four different colors.

What it does:
Make your eyes pop with pimped-out lashes in pumped-up colors. Volume ON mascara comes in violet, green, blue, or turquoise and features a large brush with hundreds of tiny bristles that coat every last lash, adding volume and curve.”

I love Sephora’s V for V.O.L.U.M.E mascara and I was really heartbroken when they discontinued it. But, they have replaced it! The blue shades look a lot like the ‘old’ colors which I love. I think I’ll try the dark blue first, then the pink. Knock on wood they are as good as the original.

HUDA BEAUTY – Obsessions Eyeshadow Palette in Coral, $27.00 USD

s2076271-main-zoom
image source: https://www.sephora.com/product/obsessions-eyeshadow-palette-P425909?icid2=similar%20products:p425909:product

From Sephora.com:

“What it is: A range of compact eyeshadow palettes, expertly curated by Huda herself, offering beauty lovers a complete day-to-night eye color wardrobe.”

NEW Huda Beauty Coral Obsessions: Featuring two duo chrome shimmers and seven creamy, matte shadows, this palette combines warm shades of burnt orange and dusty pink, for a daring look that delivers a warm glow.”

When this first came out I didn’t think too much of it besides it was really pretty. But then I started seeing all the reviews and all the looks done with this palette, now I need it. It’s just so pretty and I’ve heard it’s really pigmented.

Too Faced – Born This Way Super Coverage Multi-Use Sculpting Concealer $29.00 USD

s2084382-main-zoom
image source: https://www.sephora.com/product/born-this-way-super-coverage-multi-use-sculpting-concealer-P432298?skuId=2084382&icid2=just%20arrived:p432298

From Sephora.com:

“What it is:
A hydrating, full-coverage, weightless, four-in-one formula that conceals, contours, highlights, and retouches.

What it does:
This hydrating, buildable, multitasking concealer masks imperfections, smooths, and sculpts skin for natural-looking coverage. It’s infused with coconut water, alpine rose, and hyaluronic acid—skin-loving ingredients that come together for crease-free, weightless wear that’s so naturally flawless they’ll think you were born this way.”

I think it’s kind of ridiculous to spend $29 USD on a concealer but I really want to try it. They had me at “four-in-one formula”.

Dior – BACKSTAGE Face & Body Foundation $40.00 USD

s2070381-main-zoom
image source: https://www.sephora.com/product/backstage-face-body-foundation-P432500?skuId=2070746&icid2=just%20arrived:p432500

From Sephora.com:

“What it is:
A foundation for the face and body in 40 shades with a natural, matte finish and medium, buildable coverage that’s waterproof and sweat-resistant.”

I didn’t think too much of this foundation when it came out but I’ve heard tons of good reviews and now I really want to try it. They have a great shade range and it seems like a foundation that would work for most skin types.

Marc Jacobs Beauty – Eye-Conic Multi-Finish Eyeshadow Palette – Coconut Fantasy Collection in Fantascene $49.00 USD

s2070076-main-zoom
image source: https://www.sephora.com/product/eye-conic-multi-finish-eyeshadow-palette-coconut-fantasy-collection-P430503

This palette is just so pretty! I’ve always wanted to try a Marc Jacobs palette and I think this might be the one. This is similar to the Backtalk palette, so I’ll probably end up getting one or another. It just seems like such an easy, pigmented, blendable, beautiful palette.

That’s it for this post. What’s on your wishlist and what aren’t you getting? What are your thoughts on these products? Let me know in the comments and have a great day!

Previous Anti Haul + Wishlist: Anti Haul + Wishlist – February 2018

Let’s get social!

Instagram: emilyburnsmua

Twitter: emilyburnsmua

Pinterest: emilyburnsmua

Bloglovin’: Here

Email: Contact

 

20 thoughts on “Anti Haul and Wishlist #4 – Summer 2018

  1. I don’t think I’ll be getting anything from this list either. Especially not the dior backstage collection. It doesn’t really scream “backstage” to me, I know people rave about it but the colours don’t inspire me 🤔

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I fully agree with you on the stuff Tarte is putting out (I also recently did a kind of, what were you thinking post on Tarte Love, Trust and Fairy Dust collection). These collections are so juvenile and while yes, maybe they are trying to target a younger audience, I think they are going to start losing their older demographic (who, let’s face it, have all the money) if they keep putting out these cheap, childlike, limited edition collections which really have no new products in them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I couldn’t agree more! They make some products that I love but it makes it hard to support a brand that has came out with eh shade ranges and repetitive, juvenile products

      Like

  3. I so agree with you about Tarte. It’s gotten to the point where I just don’t feel excited about the brand anymore–it just feels like they’re catering to kids. Don’t get me wrong, glittery packaging is great, but I like my glitter to be somewhat sophisticated, thank you very much! lol Also, with that Popsugar palette, all I see is unused palette space!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yup, I don’t think I’ll end up getting anything either! The things I want the most right now are the Morphe 39A, Jeffree Star Thirsty Palette, the Violet Voss Flamingo palette, The Norvina Palette, and the Colourpop Mar palette. These are like the only things that are screaming my name as of now.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I am with you for the tarte one. I feel them repeating their over-the-top packaging over and over again is really cheapening their brand too – which is a pity since some of their stuff are really crazy good. Great post! It was great knowing I’m not alone in my sentiments!

    oli | thenicepeach

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Marc Jacobs palette…………………….. 😀 Ahahah I want to try the Dior foundation too, I need to grab a sample of it first. On my wishlist at the moment there is the Norvina palette, I’m (not so patiently) waiting for it to drop on sephora italia and the new colourpop Zodiac collection, I love anything related to zodiac and I’ve never tried colourpop before, it sounds like a good start

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I knoooowww!! I need to order it ASAP. I was going to get a sample of it this weekend but Sephora didn’t have it in stock. I’ll be excited to hear your thoughts on Norvina and the Colourpop palette. What do you think of the new Zodiac collection from Wet N Wild?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m testing the foundation right now… All I can say is that you need to try the foundation too. I can’t wait to get both collections. I don’t like the WnW :/

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment