Monthly Favorites and Makeup Breakup – August 2018

Hi, guys and welcome to the blog! I hope you all are well today. August has really flown by and it’s time again for monthly favorites. This month was more of a skincare loving month for me personally, but of course I’ve been loving some new makeup items too!

Laura Mercier – Caviar Stick Eye Shadow in Au Naturel

IMG_9351

I received this eyeshadow from Play! by Sephora a few months ago and didn’t think much of it. A couple weeks ago I wanted to do a look that required a stick eyeshadow, so I gave this another go and I have been loving it ever since. It works great as a primer to cancel out any darkness etc, eyeshadows really cling to it and it’s easy to blend over.

Too Faced – Born This Way Foundation in Snow

 

s1762608-main-zoom
image source

 

Jaclyn Hill recently posted a favorites video raving about this foundation so, as I was already on planning to go to Sephora that weekend, I picked up a sample. I have really been loving it. It gives a very natural ‘born this way’ coverage and is very easy to work with.

My only complaint about this foundation is that it’s a little too radiant for my preferences, but that can easily be fixed with a different primer in some powder. I don’t think I’ll be buying a full size too soon because I have other foundations I would like to finish, but, I really like it.

Peter Thomas Roth – Rose Stem Cell Bio-Repair Gel Mask

click here to see the PTR mask set I bought this in.

IMG_9350

I LOVE this mask, it is magic. There are two ways to use this mask, one is to leave it on for 10 minutes then wash it off, the other is to leave it on overnight and wash it off in the morning. I love leaving it on overnight, every other night. Overnight it really reduces acne/breakouts (which I’ve had a lot of this month), moisturizes the skin and I feel like it reduces redness. It amazing and I highly recommend it to anyone. I bought this in a set, which I linked above, for $25 which is a steal for this mask and the four others you get.

Image Skincare – ORMEDIC balancing lip enhancement complex

IMG_9354

This ‘lip enhancer’ (bougie lip ointment) is simply amazing. I tried it once during a facial and loved it but didn’t buy a full size until a couple weeks ago. It’s expensive for a lip ointment but really worth it. It really helps with dehydrated/dry lips and it plumps them at the same time. It reduces fine lines on the lips as well. This was designed for post-dermal fillers/injections so it is very gentle but effective.

Image Skincare – CLEAR CELL salicylic clarifying pads

IMG_9349

These pads have been amazing this month. I mentioned earlier that my skin has been breaking out this month and these pads have been a life saver. They really reduce breakouts and they have reduced my redness as well. I use these about twice a week, give or take. If you have very sensitive skin I wouldn’t recommend these, but I think they would be great for anyone else with acne or breakouts.

Yes To Cucumbers – Soothing Hypoallergenic Facial Wipes

IMG_9346

These facial wipes are very lovely and really refreshing. I try to wash my face twice a day, but let’s be honest, sometimes I just don’t feel like it. So if I don’t wash my face I use these facials wipes which is the next best thing. I think they cleanse well and leave my skin feeling really refreshed, best of all they don’t irritate my skin. I don’t recommend these for makeup removing or regular cleansing but they are perfect for anytime you just don’t feel like washing your face.

Makeup Breakup:

It Cosmetics – Celebration Foundation

IMG_9352

I’m so disappointed that this is a makeup breakup. About three years ago I tried this for this first time and absolutely loved it, I actually hit pan on it which is uncommon for me. So, this time last year I ordered another one and I guess they really changed the formula because it is nothing like the one I fell in love with. Firstly, the shade is too dark for me. I am slightly paler than I was the first time I tried this, but ‘Medium’ was a great match for me. Now, it too dark and ends up oxidizing after a couple hours, which makes me look like an Oompa loompa (not flattering). The formula is somewhat greasy and applies very patchy. It used to have really great coverage but now it’s maybe medium. Overall, it’s not what it was and I just kinda hate it, so I’m breaking up with it.

IMG_9353

This month’s favorites is kind of an updated skincare routine, but I really love all of these products and recommend them to anyone experiencing breakouts or redness. Have you guys tried any of these products? What are some of your favorites this month? Let me know and thank you for reading!

Let’s get social!

Portfolio: Here

Instagram: emilyburnsmua

Pinterest: emilyburnsmua

Bloglovin’: Here

Email: Contact

 

7 thoughts on “Monthly Favorites and Makeup Breakup – August 2018

Leave a comment